Bradford on Avon's most famous landmark, the bridge features a 'Lock-Up' of surprisingly roomy internal proportions, with two cells and iron beds.
The top of the structure is adorned by a Gudgeon, leading to the phrase 'Under the fish and over the water', which some see as the town's motto.
The Saxon church is one of Bradford's gems. Its origins are not known for certain, but there is evidence that takes it back to the first millennium, perhaps as a chapel to a monastery destroyed by Danish invaders. The monastery is believed to have been built by Aldhelm, Bishop of Malmesbury in the 7th. century.
Built in the 1875, for the weaving industry, Abbey Mill was used by the Avon Rubber Company into the 1990's.
The mill has now been renovated and turned into retirement flats.
Watching narrow-boats and other craft passing through the Lock in Bradford is one of the town's most colourful sights.
The Canal Trust have worked tirelessly to restore damaged sections of the canal and they run pleasure cruises most weekends.
Smaller boats can be hired for 'self-drive' from within Bradford and from other places betweeen Bradford and Bath.
This was mainly built in the 15th century enlarging a much earlier church. It contains some interesting tombs and a fine Jacobean Rood Screen, now under the tower. The tower has 8 bells which were restored and re-hung for the Millennium.
This charming row of eighteenth century houses, half way up the hill on the northern bank of the river, forms part of a pleasant walk from the Saxon church past Chantry House and down across the railway line and river to the Tithe Barn.
A quiet corner, 10 minutes from the centre of Bradford. A Quiet Corner - Malcolm Hewson
Quiet morning on the river.
With buildings dating from the early medieval to the early twentieth century, it is very unusual in preserving the original street profile or lie of the land to facilitate drainage from the shops.